State of the World 2004: Experts Guide


Contact: Susan Finkelpearl
Ph. 202.452.1992 x517, email: sfinkelpearl@worldwatch.org

Chapters & Themes
Worldwatch Researcher & Location
Contact Email
Watching What We Eat
  • Overview, State of the World 2004
  • Agriculture's impact on the environment
  • Good and bad food distribution systems
  • Organic and local food movements
  • Policy recommendations
Brian Halweil
Project Co-Director
Long Island, NY

halweil@worldwatch.org

Purchasing for the People and the Planet
  • Overview, State of the World 2004
  • Institutional purchasing power and impacts
  • Defining "green" purchasing
  • Eco-labeling and "green" markets
Lisa Mastny
Project Co-Director
Washington, DC
lmastny@worldwatch.org
The State of Consumption Today & Rethinking the Good Life
  • Defining the "consumer society"
  • Global consumer spending
  • Factors that drive consumption
  • The good and bad sides of consumption
Gary Gardner
Washington, DC

ggardner@worldwatch.org

The State of Consumption Today & Rethinking the Good Life
  • Defining the "consumer society"
  • Wealth vs. well-being
  • Factors that drive consumption
Erik Assadourian
Washington, DC
eassadourian@worldwatch.org
Making Better Energy Choices
  • Energy and transportation trends
  • Trends in energy use at home and at work
  • Energy demand in developing nations
  • Hidden energy behind consumer goods
  • Policy recommendations
Janet Sawin
Derwood, MD
jsawin@worldwatch.org
Boosting Water Productivity
  • Global water distribution and consumption
  • Water use in agriculture
  • Urban water use
  • Industrial and private water use
  • Policy recommendations
Sandra Postel
Amherst, MA
spostel@globalwaterpolicy.org
Watching What We Eat
  • Agriculture's impact on the environment
  • Defining the food "marketing chain"
  • Factory farms
  • Policy recommendations
Danielle Nierenberg
Washington, DC
dnierenberg@worldwatch.org
Moving Toward a Less Consumptive Economy
  • Achieving a less consumptive economy
  • Reducing materials and energy use
  • Defining "Cradle-to-cradle" design
  • Avoiding the "work and spend trap"
  • Policy recommendations
Michael Renner
Long Island, NY
mrenner@i-2000.com
Linking Globalization, Consumption, and Governance
  • Globalization and the spread of consumerism
  • International treaties and conferences addressing global consumption and production
  • The World Summit, the WTO, and consumption
Hilary French
Washington, DC
hfrench@worldwatch.org


To schedule an interview with any of the above authors, contact Susan Finkelpearl
at 202.452.1992 x517 or sfinkelpearl@worldwatch.org

—END—