Worldwatch Mourns the Passing of Dr. James Rush Brock

Dr. James Brock

Washington, D.C.–The Worldwatch Institute mourns the loss of Dr. James Rush Brock, Professor Emeritus University of Texas, who passed peacefully at home in Austin on Wednesday, December 7, 2011.

Dr. Brock served on the faculty in the UT Department of Chemical Engineering from 1960-1999 and was the Kenneth A. Kobe professor. His fields of interest were: Aerosol Physics and Chemistry, Environmental Science, Plasma Physics, Statistical Mechanics, Thermodynamics, Reaction Kinetics, Atmospheric Physics, Rarefied Gas Dynamics, nanotechnology. From 1962-1963 he was a postdoctoral fellow at the Universite Libre de Belgique, Brussels, working under Dr. Ilya Prigogine, winner of the 1977 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Dr. Brock was a member of the Research Grants Advisory Committee for the evaluation of air pollution research proposals for the Environmental Protection Agency in Washington from 1970, a research consultant for the US Air Force and various private companies including Radian Corporation, Southwest Research Institute, Illinois Institute of Technology and Brookhaven National Laboratory.

He co-authored with G.M. Hidy The Dynamics of Aerocolloidal Systems, Vol. 1, and Topics in Current Aerosol Research Vol. 2, 1970; co-editor of International Reviews in Aerosol Physics and Chemistry, 1971-1973; associate editor of the Journal of Environmental Science and Health 1978; and of the Journal of Aerosol Science, 1986-1988; member of the editorial board of the Journal of Colloid Science, 1965-66; Aerosol Science and Technology, 1984-1988; contributed more than 150 articles to referred science and engineering journals, contributed 10 book chapters, wrote numerous reports, and held 20 patents. 

Dr. Brock was a long-standing member and dear friend of Worldwatch, and it is with great sadness that we say goodbye to him.